Fun in the Kitchen

Standard

Last week was our 2 year anniversary. Which with all we got going on lately we did not really celebrate in big way. Which is fine. He spoiled me in other ways just we didn’t get to go out without Xavier or anything like that. I have not posted bout this but I actually stopped working last week. I got laid off due to being pregnant. Worse part is they waited til I was almost 7 months pregnant to do it. So now me finding a new job is difficult to say the least. So with 2 kids and one on the way to support, plus the holidays money is SUPER tight to say the least. But as you know I live my life the best I can with positivity. Like I am once again a stay at home mommy & wife. Which is great to have this time with my son again. Helping him play and learn. Plus I am getting lots done I have been wanting to get done. Nesting helps push it along as well. I am a crafter as ya’ll know so I am also able to focus on that and I do sell my crafts so that is nice. Plus since I can do cakes I am able to actually take orders for them. Which today I got a order to do a construction/tool cake. I am super excited about that.

Anyways, with last week being out 2 year anniversary. I spoiled my love a little more than I usually do. He went out and had a guys night which he never gets and has never done. He got to use the poker set I got him. He enjoyed that. I surprised him with Oatmeal cookies, his favorite, a LARGE card, & then I made a homemade blueberry sauce for him to put on his Fluffy french toast I made him. Now it is not regular french toast since it is dipped into a homemade custard like mix. He enjoyed it and was so thankful for it! I also made a special dinner. I made Chicken wings which I marinated in Dale’s seasoning sauce. We had a green salad, homemade scalloped potatoes, & baked beans. Also My love usually works nights so we are opposite shifts. But he is currently on days. No idea on how long this will last and being on days he doesn’t get as many hours. But positives are we get to have family dinners again. We are on the same schedule and I get to go to sleep wrapped in his arms each night.

Here are some pictures & the recipes in case any of you want to try them. 🙂

BlueBerry Sauce:

This recipe makes about 4 cups of the sauce. But if you think this is unnecessary large amount, please reconsider. This is very versatile sauce. You can eat it with your pancakes, waffles, pour over yogurt or vanilla ice cream. The sauce is wonderful served with a lemon cheesecake or pound cake. And it will keep up to a week in the refrigerator. Also can freeze it. Jar it and makes a great gift. 🙂 That is what I have done with some of our extra.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups fresh or frozen blueberries (it is not necessary to thaw frozen berries)
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • Grated zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • ¼ cup water

Directions: In a large saucepan combine the blueberries, water, sugar, lemon zest and juice. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, then reduce the heat and simmer gently for a minute or two; the berries should soften slightly, and some of their skins will pop. In a small bowl, mix together the cornstarch and water, and add it into the berries. Simmer for a couple of minutes, stirring constantly, until slightly thickened. You have to cook the cornstarch sufficiently enough to get rid of the chalky starch flavor. Taste to be sure it’s gone. Remove from the heat, cool, then refrigerate tightly covered.

Fluffy French Toast:

Makes about 7 to 8 pieces.

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 eggs, slightly beaten
  • scant 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 7-8 slices whole wheat bread (or the bread of your choice!)
  • Butter or oil, for greasing pan

In large bowl, add flour and slowly whisk in milk until well combined. Whisk in the eggs, salt, cinnamon, vanilla extract and sugar until well combined.Heat a skillet or flat-top grill over medium-high heat. Allow butter to melt and bubble in pan.Place a slice of bread in the cinnamon-custard mixture, flipping several times to fully coat. You want the bread to be thoroughly drenched but not completely falling apart. When pan is nice and hot (almost smoking), carefully place fully-coated slices of bread in pan. Cook over medium-high until bottom of toast is crisp and golden brown. Flip and cook for another couple of minutes, until bottom is golden brown. Serve hot off the grill, buttered and drizzled with maple syrup. You can freeze french toast to serve up the next morning or a month from now. Wrap up the slices in plastic wrap or parchment paper and place in a freezer bag. Just pop them in the toaster and they’re ready to eat!

image

image

image

image

image

Hehe those flowers are over 2 weeks old now still gorgeous.

Well that is all for tonight. I hope each of you have had a wonderful week and if you have not well hey tomorrow is FRIDAY!

✌PEACE💟 LOVE & :)HAPPINESS

From 💜Nerdy Mama Owl💋

23 thoughts on “Fun in the Kitchen

  1. I bet you made his day!! I think the hardest part for me on anniversaries is that my hubby loves everything and doesn’t really have a favorite that I can make him! That french toast and blueberry sauce looks so tasty!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful story! Enjoy this time and love each and every moment together, it’s all that seriously matters. We’ve been married 30 years, and I wish I had better understood all that I do now about the beauty of the years. Happy Anniversary!! Here’s a letter that was published where we considered how we’ve been married 30 years. Peace, Debbie 🙂 http://www.elephantjournal.com/2014/10/how-weve-made-it-30-years-a-letter-from-my-husband/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

